DuPont Awards for Packaging Innovation

DuPont Awards for Packaging Innovation

This awards program is an international, independently-judged competition that honors innovations in packaging design, materials, technology, and processes across the entire packaging value chain. Inaugurated in 1986, the DuPont Packaging Awards program is recognized globally as the leading packaging awards program.

There is no entry fee.

What is Innovation?

What's the meaning of "innovation?"

Innovation takes many forms. It can be a container that blends rigid and flexible packaging for a myriad of possibilities or a medical package that plays a vital role in surgery preparation. Or, it may even be a squeezable mascara tube that ends product dispensing frustrations. But one thing is consistent…game-changing innovation takes hard work. Determination. Dedication. And in the packaging industry, it takes a strong passion for science.

That’s what the DuPont Awards for Packaging Innovation is all about - recognizing those innovations in the packaging supply chain that truly excel in Technological AdvancementResponsible Packaging and Enhanced User Experience.


Judging Criteria

In evaluating entries, judges will consider excellence based on these criteria.

“The DuPont Packaging Awards honor packaging innovations that use science, inspiration, and creativity to shift the paradigms and change the way we live," said Bernard Rioux, DuPont Packaging Awards program leader.“Our awards categories reflect future global challenges and the increasingly important role of the consumer in driving packaging innovation.”


All entries are reviewed and judged by a prestigious, independent panel of international judges throughout the value chain.

Judges have expertise in:

  • Consumer insights
  • Structural and graphic design
  • Materials, components and systems
  • Package and materials converting
  • Distribution/retailing
  • Regulations/standards
  • Stewardship
  • Research & Development

Judges' decisions are final.

Schedule of Events

  • Call for Entries takes place during fourth quarter.
  • Deadline for entries is typically in the first quarter of the following year, with judging to follow soon after.
  • Winners typically announced in second quarter.