DuPont wins National Medal of Technology

In 2003, DuPont received the National Medal of Technology "for policy and technology leadership in the phaseout and replacement of chlorofluorocarbons."

In 1990, DuPont received the award "for pioneering the development and commercialization of high-performance man-made polymers such as nylon, neoprene rubber, "Teflon" fluorocarbon resin, and a wide spectrum of new fibers, films, and engineering plastics which have strengthened America's global competitiveness and benefited humankind."

The National Medal of Technology
The National Medal of Technology is the highest honor bestowed by the President of the United States to America’s leading innovators.

Two DuPont scientists have received National Medals of Technology for their work done at DuPont:

In 1996, DuPont scientist Stephanie Kwolek received the National Medal of Technology "for her contributions to the discovery, development and liquid crystal processing of high-performance aramid fibers, which provide new products worldwide to save lives and benefit humankind."

In 1993, DuPont scientist George Levitt (with Marinus Los of American Cyanamid) received the National Medal Technology "for their independent contribution to the discovery and commercialization of environmentally friendly herbicides to help ensure an abundant food supply for a growing world population."

A third DuPont scientist was awarded a National Medal of Science for his work at DuPont:

In 1992, DuPont scientist Howard Simmons received the National Medal of Science “for his fundamental contributions to synthesis, molecular structure, and the theory of organic chemistry, and for his productive management of the premier industrial chemical research program in the United States."